Paper Example of Interviews: A Native American and American Divorced Parent

Published: 2022-12-26
Paper Example of Interviews: A Native American and American Divorced Parent
Type of paper:  Essay
Categories:  Culture Sociology Family Personality America Diversity
Pages: 4
Wordcount: 1072 words
9 min read

First Interview With Wendy Smith

My first interview was with Wendy Smith. She is 66 years old. Her nickname is Aponi, which means Butterfly.

Trust banner

Is your time best spent reading someone else’s essay? Get a 100% original essay FROM A CERTIFIED WRITER!


Wendy is a single and divorced parent with two grown children. She was 20 years old when she got married to Jesse Smith. She worked at the VA Hospital in downtown Detroit and made 35 dollars an hour.

Race and Ethnicity

Wendy Smith is Native American and American. Her ethnicity is Indian because her dad was Cherokee and mom was American.

Social Class & Functional ability

Wendy comes from a working-class family of nurses. She had to retire because suffered kidney failure. She is on dialysis now, and her right leg gave out ultimately. She has two stints in her heart because of 80% blockage.

Sexual Orientation & Family Support

Wendy Smith was married before but currently divorced. Her family consists of her son, Jay, and daughter Shawn. Her two sisters, Iris and Janice, help her all the time with a ride to dialysis and doctors appointment.


Wendy lives beautiful with social security benefit and pension from work. She could no longer stay by herself, so now she stays with her son, Jay and his family which consists of his longtime girlfriend of 22 years Cynthia and their two kids, Jessica and Joshua.


Wendy is a Christian with native beliefs.


Wendy knows that she is an American and sometimes thinks that she will have to put the Native American beliefs behind her only when it comes to her health.

Second Interview with Barbara Rutland


Barbara Rutland is 86 years old and is an African American. She is a high school graduate and is from Atlanta, Georgia. She never attended college. She been married for 43 years and got married at age 20. Her income level was only 14,000 a year.

Race, Ethnicity and Social Class

Barbara Rutland is Black in the African American Family. She is from a working-class family but on the poor side.

Functional Ability and Gender Age

Barbara Rutland had to retire because of her health. She has no cartilages in her left knee, and its rubbing bone on bone and she only has 1/4 of a kidney left.

Sexual Orientation, Family Support, and Retirement

She does not believe in going with women in a relationship. Barbara does have the support of her husband, Wes, her four children and grandchildren. Barbara gets her retirement and social security every month.

Culture and Sociological

Barbara Rutland culture consists of the slavery days only when it came to drinking from the water fountain. Her culture always is big on families. She does not have a preferred religion, but she does believe in marriage before children.

Physiological and Psychological

Barbara believes in going to the doctors and taking medications. She does not want to take medication for the rest of her life. She is very nervous about getting surgery on her left knee because she feels as she gets old, you should not get cut on. Barbara tries not to let anything get to her because things are bad; she does not want to go into depression.

Cultural Aspects

Barbara Rutland food types are fried chicken, macaroni and cheese, collard greens breaded okras and cornbread.

The Third Interview With Aabidah Bashara


She attended the University of Michigan with an associate's degree in communications. Aabidah is married for 31 years now, and she has no income because the man as always work and brought the money home

Race, Ethnicity and Social Class

Aabidah race is Islamic, and her ethnicity is Muslim. The social class for Aabidah is nonworking, and she falls in the poverty line. Even if her husband is working, she has no occupation and no income.

Functional Ability and Gender Age

Aabidah's functional ability is not good because she has HIV.

Family Support and Retirement

Aabidah Bashara has two daughters and one husband for her support. She also has the MATRIX for a support group, if she needs it. She has no social security or pension to live off. Her medical insurance is through the state of Michigan.

Sociological and Physiological

Faith is essential to her and is practiced around Islam. She believes in the five pillars. She does her Salat, which is her daily prayers. It was no types of drugs, sex or violence in her school growing up.


Aabidah Bashara goes through stressful life events every day. She does not seek to spread corruption. Growing up Islam, she considers disease a test from Allah, and I would know it was.

Cultural Aspects

Islamic respects their elders and their grandparents to stay in the home. We of Islamic faith believe in fasting from sun up to sun down.

Interview Questions

Do you eat foods that are indigenous to our culture? Why or why not? Can you name some of the food that you can eat?

I hope to learn what foods each one can eat and those they cannot.

How important is religion in your family?

I hope to learn about if they can get married or practice another religion without being disowned from their own family.

What are the common misconceptions about people of your culture?

I hope to learn about stereotyping of people and cultures.

How are your culture values different from American culture values?

I hope to learn about the different cultures and what they value most from their culture in this question.

What dressing does your culture recommend as one gets older in life?

I hope to learn the changes in dress code with age.

Do you speak multiple languages?

I hope to learn if they speak multiple languages due to their culture.

Have you ever experienced discrimination or negative experiences based on treatment due to your culture or ethnicity?

I hope to learn if my interviewees ever experienced discrimination or any negativity because of their culture, the way they dress or by the way they look.

Describe the most important holiday in your culture?

I hope to learn to see if either culture celebrates any holiday or what holidays they do not celebrate.

Are the roles of men defined your family? If so, what are they?

I hope to learn the duties of men and women from the three cultures.

Did you ever stay with your extended family all under one roof?

I hope to learn about in the interview if this type of culture has to stay under one roof because that's their culture function.

Cite this page

Paper Example of Interviews: A Native American and American Divorced Parent. (2022, Dec 26). Retrieved from

Request Removal

If you are the original author of this essay and no longer wish to have it published on the SpeedyPaper website, please click below to request its removal:

Liked this essay sample but need an original one?

Hire a professional with VAST experience!

24/7 online support

NO plagiarism