5. Cablevision developed an e-learning course that taught salespersons how to increase the number of cable television subscribers, thereby increasing revenue. The company wants to know if salespersons will increase upselling of cable television services (e.g. Premium channels) and will try to sell other products (e.g. email and web access). The company also wants to know the ROI of this training program.
What training outcomes should the company collect? From whom should the outcomes be collected?
There are five levels of training outcome levels. The first one is Reacting, Satisfaction & Planned Action which measures the participant reaction to and satisfaction with the training program. The second level is training which evaluates what is gained in terms of skills and knowledge. The third is application and implementation which measures the changes in behavior change. The fourth is business impact which evaluates the business impact and the fifth is return on investment which compares monetary value of the business outcomes with the expenses incurred in training employees. The most appropriate training outcome will be option four and the outcome will be collected from output, quality, costs and time.
What evaluation design would you recommend? Defend your recommendation.
There are several evaluation designs for ROI. These include; Output, quality, time, costs, work habits, work climate and attitudes among others. I would recommend Output evaluation as it measures the units produced, the units that will be sold, the overall productivity and the product mix. This design will help in determining if the program meets its objectives (Increase in upselling of cable television services (e.g. Premium channels) and will try to sell other products (e.g. email and web access), support marketing programs and help in decision making on program investments plus establishing priorities when it comes to funding.
Show how Cablevision can conduct an ROI analysis. Describe the information that the company should collect and how it should be collected.
The ROI analysis will have four phases. The first phase is the Evaluation Planning. In this step, the company comes up with the objectives of the solution. It then comes up with the evaluation plans together with the baseline data. The second stage is collection of data. Data is collected during the implementation of the result and afterwards. The third phase is data analysis. In this stage, the effects are isolated from the solution. There is conversion of data to monetary value and the calculation of the return on investment. The fourth stage is reporting where a report is formulated and the results posted out. Information on job satisfaction will be collected and this will be through questionnaires, focus groups, business performance monitoring, action plans, surveys etc.
6. The 100-employee information technology department of a financial services company had a high turnover rate. A survey of employees revealed that the reason most them left was dissatisfaction with the level of training. The average turnover rate was 23% per year. The cost to recruit and train one new employee was $ 56,625. To address the turnover problem, the company developed a skills training program that averaged 80 hours per year per employee. The average employee wage was $35 per hour. Instructor, classroom and other costs were $170,000.
What is the total cost of training? The total cost turnover?
The total cost of training would be as follows:
There are 100 employees each at 23% turnover: 100 (23 /100) = 0.23
The training expenses for each employee would be: 23 $ 56, 625 = $1,302,375
Cost on training of skills = (80 35) y + 170,000; y represents the number of employees.
Therefore: 280,000 + 170,000 = 450,000 (y is 100)
The cost incurred for training will be: (23 56, 625) for 23% turnover = 450,000
450, 000 + (15 56, 625) = 903,000
If the turnover rate dropped 8%, what was the financial benefit of the training program?
At 15%, cost would be at: (15 56, 625) = $ 849, 375
Financial benefit would be: (8 56,625) 450,000 = 3000
But if the turnover of skills training is 23%, savings will be (8 56, 625) = 453,000
What was the ROI of the training program?
The return on investment will be: (3000 450,000) 100 = 0.66%
How much would the turnover rate have to be reduced for the training program to show a benefit?(1 0.66%) = 0. 34%
The turnover rate would have to be reduced by the margin show above.
Need a paper on the same topic?
We will write it for you from scratch!
If you are the original author of this essay and no longer wish to have it published on the SpeedyPaper website, please click below to request its removal:
- Management Essay
- The Rise of Buddhism in China
- Audit quality thesis
- To begin with, Daniels focuses on the fact that most of these immigrants came into America for diverse reasons such as political persecution, famine or even in search of relief due to lack of significant economic opportunities in their native countries. Precisely, for the Chinese immigrants, the major driving force that saw most of them migrating into the new world, America, was as a result of their collapsing empire due to economic reasons. Additionally, it was due to what was referred to as the Padrones, commonly known as the contract labor agreements that several other Chinese immigrants migrated into America. Upon their settlement in America, these Chinese immigrants flocked the coal and steel mines while some others competed for jobs in the railroad construction.
- Orthopedic ImpairementsJane Story
- Middle Range Theory in Nursing Research and Practise
- Digestion and Distribution
- Part 1: Introduction, thesis statement, research objectives, and hypotheses.
- Cause of Inflation in Kenyan Economy
- Mona Lisa
- Genocide in Cambodia
- Philosophical essay example